Uncategorized

FCC & 2015

It’s a new year, new day, new life… and time for a new challenge!  2014 was the year of settling into my new job (water wonk for Tetra Tech, an international development company), a new house, and welcoming my first kid into the world.  The Water Wonk took a hit, and the blog has been lying dormant for almost an entire year. However, with the emergence of 2015, I’ve decided to take on a new challenge in life: learn to code.

….for real.

For anyone who has perused my blog or seen some of my data analysis, you might be scratching your head.  “Don’t you already know how to code? I don’t think some of those posts would be possible without it…”

Truth be told, I’ve flown by the seat of my pants for a lot of the analysis I’ve done in the past. Bootstrapping it as I go, ad-hoc code learning here and there. But never have I really, truly dove head first into coding to become proficient. I want to master SQL and be able to querry the heck out of some databases. I want to launch my own Neo4j server and never look back. I want to… become a code monkey (cuz who doesn’t love monkies?!).

The Water Wonk has enrolled in FCC (Free Code Camp) and is taking the next 12 months to become a coding machine. I’d even go so far as to say an expert, but that’s getting a head of ourselves.  One step at a time, one code challenge at a time… 2015 will be the year of code. Over the next year, I’ll be using the blog to share what I’ve done, what I’ve learned, and as a general space to collect my musings.

Here’s to FCC and becoming a monkey!

Leave a Reply

